Skip to content

More Doll Quilt WIPs

June 4, 2007

More Doll Quilt WIPs
Strippy Doll QuiltI’ve officially joined the Doll Quilt Swap! I have no idea what quilt I’m going to make for it, but I have a lot of things I would like to try. A couple days ago I finished this strippy doll quilt, and I have a similar one waiting in the wings.

June DQC WIP I’m also currently working on one for the Doll Quilt Challenge Flickr group. It’s another disappearing nine patch, but this time I’m making it a bit larger and strip piecing with just 3 fabrics for the sake of simplicity. Part of that challenge is that it be just two colors, so pink and green it is. I LOVE it so far. I think it’ll definitely be a keeper.

So I’m curious to know (is anyone out there?), how did you get started sewing? Probably my first experience was the summer before my 6th grade year when my aunt taught me by helping me make a skirt and matching tank top. My mom taught me cross stitching. I took every sewing class possible in jr. high and high school. In jr. high I started my first quilt, and learned some embroidery. In high school I took mostly clothing classes, although I only remember making a pair of overalls I hated, a sock rabbit, and a baby dress I gave away. My mom bought me my first sewing machine, a Janome 4623LE Plus, for my 25th birthday (4 yrs ago), and I love it! Quilting is my favorite thing, so I bought all the quilting attatchments/feet shortly thereafter. Sewing is what I will always go back to… I had to break when my babies were born, but I’m so glad to have gotten back into it this last month.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

