Skip to content

Best Chicken Salad Ever

June 18, 2007

Best Chicken Salad Ever
I don’t cook a lot because I live with two extrememly picky eaters, ages 3 and 30. Hmm. So you won’t see recipes from me very often, but when you do they will be my favorites. I got this recipe from a friend and changed a couple amounts ever so slightly to my tastes. The recipe is just called “Chicken Salad” but I think it needs a more desriptive name. My brother and his wife are in town from ID so I thought I’d fix them a nice lunch. I usually serve this on croissants, but I also like to eat it straight up.

3 cups diced chicken breast
1/2 cup celery, finely chopped
1/2 cup green onions, finely chopped
1 8 oz. can water chestnuts, drained and chopped
1 1/4 cups Swiss cheese, diced (pea size)
1 1/2 cups red grapes, halved

3/4 cup mayonnaise
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 tsp. poultry seasoning
1/4 tsp. onion powder
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 tsp. pepper
1 Tbsp. lemon juice

This is my “secret” to chunky rather than shredded chicken (it really makes a difference with this recipe). Cut chicken breasts in half so they will cook evenly. Place boneless chicken breasts in an 8″ sq. dish, coat with Bernstein’s Cheese Fantastico Dressing (or italian dressing of your choice). Cover with foil and bake 30-35 minutes or until just done. Do not over cook! Cool completely before cutting into bite size cubes.

Toss together chicken, celery, green onions, water chestnuts, cheese, and grapes. Whisk together dressing ingredients. Gently stir together to coat. Cover and refrigerate for several hours before serving. Eat as is or serve on croissants. Serves about 8.

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

