Skip to content

It is Finished!

August 30, 2007

It is Finished!
There’s nothing like completing a project that’s been sitting around forever to boost a girl’s mood. I had a really bad day again yesterday in terms of the potty training. But last night I was able to start quilting Connor’s play quilt, and I finished his flannel bed quilt finally!

Connor's Quilt
The idea of this quilt started about 1 1/2 years ago. I got a top put together and started quilting it only to decide I wasn’t crazy about it. Then I happened upon the Tiddliwinks Safari baby bedding at Target and it was exactly what I was looking for – just the wrong form! I bought a pack of receiving blankets, found a couple more flannel prints that matched and his new quilt was born. I love it! It’s only the flannel with chenille on the back, and it’s luxuriously heavy and warm. This is my first tied project, too. It made for sore fingers after an hour or two, but it did go pretty fast. Connor loves this quilt, too. He’s been eyeballing it for months and frequently asks me to lay it out for him to play on.

Future Play Quilt
And speaking of playing on a quilt, I picked up this panel at a thrift store for 99 cents. Not something I would usually go for, but I thought Connor would for sure love having something to drive his cars on. Score! I was right. I also got a large piece of felt (the fake stuff) that I thought was batting until I got home and smacked myself in the head for not realizing what it was! I used that for batting anyway… it’s a play quilt after all. And for the back, a cute street signs flannel from JoAnn’s to finish it off. I’m quilting along the roads and around the buildings, and practicing a little freehand machine quilting on other random parts.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

