Skip to content

Baking Season

November 7, 2007

Baking Season
As is usual for me I’m losing my desire for crafting as it gets closer to Christmas. Go figure. Just when I start getting ideas of things to make for gifts I get burnt out.

Broccoli Cheese QuicheBut my cooking/baking phase is going strong still. Made my first and second quiche. And my first pumpkin pie. I cheat and use store bought crusts because I’m horrible at making crust, and really don’t care to perfect the art. I want to experiment with a couple different pumpkin pies till I find the perfect one. I love pumpkin pie with real whipped cream.

Connor was my little helper the other night while making Molasses Crinkles. Or just cookies, but crinkles sounds more fun. I recently invested in one of those tablespoon sized scoops which makes cookie scooping so much easier! So I was scooping and rolling, and Connor rolled them in the sugar (the part I don’t like!). It was great fun for the first few minutes. But he’s honest with me and at the end of the time I asked him if he was tired of rolling them in sugar and if he wanted to stop. He said, “Yes. But I keep going.” When I tell him I can’t wait till he’s old enough to do chores like filling or emptying the dishwasher he wholeheartedly agrees!

My Baking Assistant

My Baking Assistant

Molasses Crinkles These cookies are so good! The kids agree. My friend Jeri posted the recipe in my comments, but I’ll put it here, too. I’m having to adjust things a bit, probably because of the altitude here. My first couple batches came out way too crunchy, not soft and chewy like I remember Jeri’s being. I ended up lowering the oven temp and baking them exactly 10 minutes to where they looked not quite done, then letting them sit on the cookie sheet for a couple minutes before removing to cool.

Molasses Cookies
2 sticks margarine
2 c. sugar
1/2 c. dark molasses
2 eggs
1 t. cloves
1 t. ginger
2 t. cinnamon
1 t. salt
1-1/2 t. baking soda
1-1/2 t. baking powder
4 c. flour

Mix together flour and spices. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and sugar together. Add eggs and molasses and mix well. Add flour mixture and mix well.

Roll in 1-inch balls and roll in granulated sugar. Bake at 375 or 10 minutes. Refrigerate the dough between bakings, to keep it firm enough to roll into balls. Tip: Spray your hand with a little Pam and rub hands together; dough won’t stick as badly. I want to say it made about 6-7 dozen, but don’t remember exactly.

Today I had my first go at trying to make a Chicken Tortilla Soup like the one they serve at Red Robin, which is my favorite. The broth is slightly thickened, lightly spiced, with just kidney beans, corn, and chicken, then topped with chips, cheese, and sour cream. A lot of the recipes I’ve seen for Chicken Tortilla soup look more chili/taco-ish or have huge tomato chunks. I really don’t like stewed tomato chunks in anything! I think I did a pretty good job of it, but I’ll probably take one more crack at it before sharing my “secret” recipe.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

