Skip to content

Apron For Swap

February 26, 2008

Apron For Swap
Tonight I finally got to work on the apron for the apron swap. I’m making the Emmeline Apron from Montessori by Hand. It’s more labor intensive than I expected (truth be told, I love the look of gathers, but really hate doing it!). I worked on it for about 3 hours, from pressing and cutting to pinning the two sides (it’s reversible) together. I’ll finish up tomorrow, sewing the two sides together and adding the binding and tie around the neck. Can I just say that I LOVE this pattern? For all it’s work it is serious cuteness.

I just realized, again, that the swap was supposed to be Spring themed. I completely forgot. But luckily, I picked out a cherry print fabric for one side, so I think that definitely qualifies! Like I said, it’s reversible, and at first I wasn’t going to do it that way. Then I thought I didn’t want to “cheat” my partner by making a reversible pattern non-reversible. What’s the fun in that? So the back is a not-so-Spring-y kitchen-y print that I had in my stash.

Here’s a little sneak peak and a tip. For the pattern you have to sew the ties on at an angle so that they are straight when it’s all finished. Rather than much trial and error (which I don’t have patience for!) I figured this handy trick out. I cut the raw edge of the ties parallel to the raw edge of the apron, flipped them, then sewed them on – works like a charm.
Getting Those Ties on Straight - 1 Getting Those Ties on Straight - 2 Getting Those Ties on Straight - 3

Ah! Look at that – flowers in a vase. That’s Spring-y!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

