Skip to content

My Chicken Tortilla Soup

March 4, 2008

My Chicken Tortilla Soup
My Chicken Tortilla SoupI’m eagerly awaiting the arrival of my coasters and apron from the swaps. I managed to get the things I was sending in the mail on the deadline date and and the day after.

Here’s the recipe I sent with the apron. It’s a recipe for chicken tortilla soup that I created from scratch to mimic my favorite tortilla soup at Red Robin. I like that it’s thicker than broth, and doesn’t have tomato chunks in it. I used to hate cilantro, but it’s been growing on me. Last time I made this I added cilantro and avocado slices… oh yum.

Wendy’s Chicken Tortilla Soup
4 Tbsp. butter
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/4 cup flour
2 (15oz) cans chicken broth
1 large garlic clove, minced
2 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning (basically basil and oregano if you don’t have it)
1/2 tsp. paprika
1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
1 (8oz) can tomato sauce
1 (15oz) can kidney beans, with liquid
1 (15oz) can whole kernel corn, drained
2 chicken breasts

In a saucepan melt the butter. Add the onion, and saute until onion is tender. Stir in flour till smooth. Gradually stir in one can of chicken broth, cook and stir until thickened. Combine onion mixture and all the rest of the ingredients in a slow cooker. Cook on high for at least 4 hours (or all day on low). Top with your choice of tortilla chips, cheese, sour cream, cilantro, and avocado. Makes about 6 servings.

Sometimes I just throw frozen chicken breasts in the Crock Pot and cut them up later, but I suppose it’d be just as easy to cut it up first. I’ve just hated touching raw chicken ever since my last pregnancy!

I lost my grandma’s Crock Pot today. It was probably from the 60’s or something and a fire trap anyway. But I liked that it was the small tall design rather than big and round. I dropped the solid glass lid and had glass shards crazy enough to kill an intruder all over my kitchen floor. Luckily it was nap time for one kid, and the other was occupied with Play-Doh long enough for me to clean it up. Sorry to see that ugly old Crock Pot go, but I do have another, and it was a downsizing decision made for me as I start thinking of packing this place up again.

And check out my progress on the Cathedral Windows! Neat-o! Yeah, these are a lot of work and this little 9 square pillow will totally satisfy my need to give it a try. And here I was thinking… 9 muslin squares would make 9 windows. Not so, it makes 12.
Catheral Windows Pillow WIP

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

