Skip to content

A Focus for my “Baby Jane”

March 10, 2008

A Focus for my “Baby Jane”
I’ve been thinking about this whole Dear Jane quilt project. And how the author of the book wrote letters to Jane while she was working on drafting the whole thing, and was thinking a lot about the Civil War and what Jane may have been thinking about while constructing her quilt. I’m not much of a history buff. Quilting is about as close to history as I get.

Some of the blocks are obviously going to take quite a bit of time. I love quilting, and spend a lot of time sewing, obviously. What do I often THINK I should be spending more time doing? I think I should be spending more time with God, and my quiet time often gets set aside for me to work on my hobbies. It’s the time that I enjoy once the kids are in bed and I just have time to myself. So I came up with the idea of combining the memorization of a Bible verse with each block I construct. Honestly, I’m pretty good with memorization, I just don’t do it. But this massive project is perfect because it’ll get me thinking and give me something to focus on when I’m just stitching away.

I’m not sure where to really start with verses. I wanted to see if I could somehow use the designs of the blocks to facilitate the memorization of certain verses, but I’m not sure that’s always going to be practical. But I did find this list of 100 verses to memorize as a place to start. I’m not going to worry about the 3 blocks I’ve already done… I’ll just remember those as the first 3 verse-less blocks! Tonight I’m going to put together block M10, which is a simple nine patch named “Simple Simon.” I wondered if there was a verse that had a list of 9 things… sure enough Galatians 5:22-23 lists nine fruits of the Spirit. So there you have it folks. It’s a plan.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

