Skip to content

A7 – Dad’s Plaids

March 14, 2008

A7 – Dad’s Plaids
A7 - Dad's PlaidsI’m hoping to try some new techniques with this quilt. I didn’t intend to, but I ended up doing this block completely by hand because I was too lazy to get my sewing machine out to sew 3 lines. I tried a slightly different appliqué technique than what I’ve previously done, using freezer paper. Check out my process here. One thing I learned doing this by hand… Don’t piece and then trim your block! I didn’t even think about the fact that I’d be cutting my threads which will now fall out. So I’ll be re-sewing this one on my machine later anyway.

The shapes on this block and the fact that it’s green made me think of leaves, growth, trees, etc. I memorized this verse a while back. I like verses that have these types of analogies, so I chose Jeremiah 17:7-8 which says “Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, and whose confidence is in Him. He will be like a tree planted by the water, that sends out its roots to the stream. It does not fear when the heat comes, it’s leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought, and never fails to bear fruit.”

I’m off to the Women’s Retreat this weekend, taking my Cathedral Windows with me that probably won’t get touched! Have a great weekend, everyone. I’ll be back on Monday, looking forward to the next Dear Jane block, and taking Cosette to get her cast.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

