Skip to content

I’m Back

March 28, 2008

I’m Back
I’m alive. The Women’s Retreat was really a wonderful weekend and experience. I was very emotionally and spiritually drained when I got home, and still processing much of the stuff God was showing me. Then I came home and have been dealing with some other difficult stuff. So I seriously just didn’t feel like being crafty. God is good through it all. Buena Vista, CO is possibly one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen to top it off.
Trail West, Buena Vista, CO Trail West, Buena Vista, CO
Me at Trial West Trail West, Buena Vista, CO

Here is my A6 Uncle Homer block.
A6 - Uncle Homer Nothing in particular really stood out to me with this block as far as making a connection with the memorization of a verse. I ended up choosing Psalm 34:4-5 because it is one that God brought to my attention while on the retreat. It says, “I sought the LORD and he answered me; he delivered me from all of my fears. Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are not covered in shame.” The theme of the retreat was a Fairytale Redeemed. Basically, it was the idea of surrendering our dreams and plans to the Lord. At several of the women’s events they have talked about how crippling our shame over our pasts can be, and that’s partly why this jumped out at me. By turning our lives over to God, even the shame and guilt of our pasts, that he makes us radiant.

And here is D3 – Jason’s Jacks.
D3 - Jason's Jack This is hand appliquéd. I tried the freezer paper on top technique again. I think that technique seemed easier when doing the reverse appliqué for some reason. I like that if you use it on the bottom, as I did with the Dad’s Plaids block, the fabric is stuck right to the foundation rather than having to pin it and deal with possible puckering. This block was supposed to get done over Easter weekend, and the symbol reminds me of some sort of cross. I picked 1 Corinthians 1:18 For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to those of us who are being saved it is the power of God.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

