Skip to content

B6 Wild Goose Chase

April 23, 2008

B6 Wild Goose Chase
B6 Wild Goose ChaseThis one was definitely more difficult. I’d planned on just piecing the center and then paper piecing it from there. Instead I was able to just piece the entire thing.

I started off by constructing the center pieces, and the outer corners that couldn’t just be sewn on in turn. Cut at least 2 (44″) strips of white that are 3/4″ wide. I started with a 4 1/2″ square of my colored fabric, and sewed the white strips all around. Then for the center pieces of the block I made a strip that needs to be at least 7″ long. Use one of the white strips, and two colored strips that are 1 1/4″ wide. After you sew the strip, trim the seam to just over 1/8″ to reduce bulk.
B6 Method 1

For the large square cut off the corners at 2 1/4″ (or cut squares that are 2 1/4″ and then cut those diagonally). From the strip, cut squares that are 1 1/4″ with the white centered diagonally on them.
B6 Method 2

Use the 3/4″ white strips as sashing between and around the little center squares. Again being very accurate with your 1/4″ seam allowance, and then trimming it to just over 1/8″ when you finish sewing that piece.
B6 Method 3

From this picture I was able to use the scraps from that large square I started with to do the next green triangles.

At this point I just sewed it in the manner you would a log cabin. I should have probably taken more pictures. I squared up the block at each step, trimming corners so that I had just a perfect 1/4″ seam allowance and would know where to line up the next piece. Since I squared up as I went, the middle of the block is probably ever so slightly smaller than it’s sketched in the book, so just make wider white strips for the border and trim the block to 5″.

This block was difficult enough that I couldn’t multi-task while actually sewing it! So I picked a short but sweet verse. Proverbs 12:25 An anxious heart weighs a man down, but a kind word cheers him up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

