Skip to content

B8 Water Lily… and Jumping on a Bandwagon

May 2, 2008

B8 Water Lily… and Jumping on a Bandwagon
B8 Water LilyAnina is doing a fabulous job running this Dear Baby Jane quilt group. Not only is she staying on schedule, posting our next block regularly on Mon. and Thur., but she does a tutorial of how she does each one. This is another one that I looked at and would have done differently, but found her way to be easier. I was thinking that the center “lily” would have to be appliquéd, when it can actually just be pieced into the white square. Since this one is done already, I’d like to try to get a couple simple pieced blocks done this weekend.

The verse memorized with this block was a review of a verse I love and had memorized some time ago. Romans 8:26 – In the same way, the Spirit also helps our weakness, for we do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. (I mostly memorize from the NIV, but this is NASB). Do you ever have times where you are at such a loss that you don’t even know what to pray for or how to pray? Isn’t it amazing to have a God who intercedes for us with “groanings that are too deep for words.”

My First AttemptAnd I’m jumping on the artisan bread wagon. I don’t remember whose blog I was on last week, but there was this scrumptious looking picture of the caramel pecan rolls from Artisan Breads in Five Minutes a Day, so I “ran out” and bought the book immediately. I know Amy has shared some of her creations from the book on her Angry Chicken blog as well. Last night I started by making a half batch of the master recipe for boule. This morning I spent 5 minutes shaping a chunk of dough, and then 45 minutes waiting. It looked lovely out of the oven, although a little misshapen for my lack of experience. And the true test… it is good! I can’t wait to try some of the sweet breads or specialty breads that I never allow myself to bring home from the store!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

