Skip to content

More Artisan Bread

May 5, 2008

More Artisan Bread
After using up my first batch of dough I wanted to try one of the “sweet” breads. I was going to make the brioche dough since it is a little richer. I ended up having to make the challah because I didn’t have enough butter. The challah just takes less eggs and butter, but you can use oil instead of butter also. Here’s my HALF batch again – two loaves worth of dough – in my gallon container.
Challah Dough

There are fewer variations with the challah unfortunately. I’m not even that much of a bread person, so… hmm… let’s make the turban-shaped challah with raisins. I figured it’d be good with chicken salad or as toast. You roll out the dough, plop a 1/4 cup of raisins on it (I lightly sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, too!), roll it up again, then stretch it into a rope, and wrap it in a coil. Then let it rest for a while. And invest in some parchment paper if you’ve never tried it!
Turban-Shaped Challah with Raisins

It gets a slather of egg wash and sprinkling of seeds before going in the oven. Because of the fat in the dough it does not form a crispy crust. Here’s mine just out of the oven. I don’t know why, but it kind of busted it’s seams and wasn’t very pretty on the back side there.
Turban-Shaped Challah with Raisins

But what does it taste like?!?! Yeah… amazing again! It’s so soft and velvety. This would make really good plain sandwich bread I think. The book does have an “American soft white bread” recipe though, so I’d be interested to know what the difference is.
Turban-Shaped Challah with Raisins

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

