Skip to content

K11 Columbine and A1 Pinwheel Gone Awry

May 30, 2008

K11 Columbine and A1 Pinwheel Gone Awry
K11 Columbine A1 Pinwheel Gone Awry
The pink one is K11 Columbine, which just happens to be CO’s state flower. I made this block twice… again!! The two look exactly the same, just on the first one my seam allowances were all messed up and too small for me to be comfortable putting in to this quilt. Does anyone remember that old Amy Grant song Jehovah, with the line, “Consider the lilies of the field. Solomon dressed in royal robes has not the worth of them…”? This block being named after a flower made me think of that, so the verse I chose is from Matthew 6:25-26. Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more important than they?”

I really like how my Pinwheel Gone Awry turned out. I actually strip pieced, and then cut them into triangles after. I did it slightly different from the book draft, more like Jane’s. See how there are two white triangles together that could potentially be a square? Jane seemed to do that a lot, but I like how it looks pieced on this one. With this one I chose a verse I again have previous memorized, but it just seemed to go well with this one. Jame 1:6-8 says, But he must ask in faith without any doubting, for the one who doubts is like the waves of the sea driven and tossed by the wind. For that man ought not to expect to receive anything from the Lord, being a double minded man, unstable in all his ways.

This weekend I plan to get at least one simple block done, and maybe another triangle. My daughter is getting over a nasty cough and cold, and Connor started in with a fever and the same cough this morning, so I won’t be going anywhere.

The other night I took a break from Dear Jane to do some more of my string blocks. I have 48 of them done now, and I think I might call it a lap quilt. I’m not crazy about the craziness of these. This will probably end up being used for a picnic quilt. But that’s cool, at least I can say I finished it this year!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

