Skip to content

C1 Trooper’s Green Badge and K8 Springbrook Park

June 13, 2008

Just a Few Blocks More
C1 Trooper's Green Badge K8 Springbrook Park

Here are a couple new Dear Jane blocks – C1 Trooper’s Green Badge, and K8 Springbrook Park. Both of these were fairly simple, as I was able to measure the book’s draft and cut the pieces and strips. And I was able to piece these without paper which was a nice change. I like how paper piecing looks, but sometimes I just wanna sew and not worry about all the drawing and folding and cutting and peeling of the paper. For K8 I cut all the strips and did it kind of log cabin style for the 4 sides. I have one more to make to catch up, but all weekend to do that. I have 38 blocks done now, and I’m feeling the urge to quit. Adding the verse memorization in with making these helps on both sides – I can’t quit making blocks because I don’t want to quit the memorization, and I know that I’d do neither if I stopped either (did that even make sense?!).

New verses memorized with these. First, Jeremiah 20:9 – If I say to myself, “I will not mention him or speak any more in his name,” his word is in my heart like fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.

I remember that this verse was shown to us after coming back from a short term mission trip. It spoke so much to what we’d experienced on the trip, and it’s been a favorite since.

For the next one, Psalm 71:14-15. But as for me, I will always have hope; I will praise you more and more. My mouth will tell of your righteousness, of your salvation all the day long, though I know not its measure.

I guess they are kind of similar in thought.

Presentation CaseLast night I was able to make a presentation case for that QOV. It turned out pretty nice. I’ve never made a pillow case before, and it was kind of fun. I didn’t have enough of anything to make the quilt back, so I need a couple more days. I’d like to get it in the mail for Alycia this weekend though… otherwise it’ll be another week.

Then with Connor’s help I made a block for a QOV block drive also. I’ll make one with my signature also. Connor got a kick out of doing this. I’ve blurred out his middle and last name, but they are on there, too. Backwards G and all. Too cute.
Connor's Signature Block

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

