Skip to content

M11 Rickshaw and H11 Piercing Rays

June 17, 2008

M11 Rickshaw and H11 Piercing Rays
M11 Rickshaw This is M11 Rickshaw. It went together amazingly well by strip piecing it. Granted it is ever so slightly different than Jane’s original as the points of the sideways and regular diamonds don’t match exactly. The angles on my diamonds are just slightly larger. But it’s close enough for me, and this was just easier. Here’s what I did.

Cut strips that are 1 3/8″ wide, one color and two white. A 13″ length was perfect for the 7 diamonds. Sew these together with the color strip in the middle.
M11 Rickshaw - Process 1

Cut the strip on a 60 degree angle, using the line on a ruler as your guide.
M11 Rickshaw - Process 2

Then using that first cut as your guide, cut pieces that are 1 3/8″ wide. You need 7 of these units.
M11 Rickshaw - Process 3

Lay our your pieces as shown.
M11 Rickshaw - Process 4

To match the diamond points I mark 1/4″ in to where the previous seam is. I very carefully use a pin to line up the pieces, but then I remove the pin because keeping it in sometimes hinders more than helps.
M11 Rickshaw - Process 5

Here is the top and bottom unit of the block. I then use another 1 3/8″ wide white strip and sew it along the sides of the diamonds.
M11 Rickshaw - Process 6

I then trim so that I have 1/4″ seam allowance on either side of the diamonds, but I left the other part to trim after the block is all constructed.
M11 Rickshaw - Process 7

Do that same thing for the middle section, only you’re putting 3 diamonds side by side in the other direction.

Sew the top, middle, and bottom sections all together. Trim all sides so that you have 1/4″ allowance beyond the outermost diamond points. (sorry about the flash reflection there!)
M11 Rickshaw - Process 8

Finish off by sewing white strips (I again used 1 3/8″ wide just to be safe) all around. Then trim the block to 5″.

I’m still working on my memorization with these two blocks. For M11: Phillipians 3:8-9 What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ— the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith.

H11 Piercing RaysH11 Piercing Rays did not go as well. It’s much more wonky than it looks and barely lies flat. I pressed the heck out of it, but it’s hopelessly wavy. File this under “Redo, but not any time soon.”

Haha!… Isn’t the verse I picked to memorize with this one fitting? 2 Corinthians 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

That’s one of those “God has a sense of humor” moments for me.

This weekend when I was at my quilt club I saw they had the Dear Jane rulers, so I grabbed them. Not that I NEED them because I still am leaning towards NOT doing the triangles. I don’t know, there are other options with that triangle ruler though.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

