Skip to content

Spaghetti

April 30, 2009

Usually when I make spaghetti for the kids, I end up using kitchen shears to chop up their spaghetti before they eat.  My kids love spaghetti, but the mess it can create!  One of the last times I bought pasta I noticed American Beauties Fideo Cortado, which is basically like 1″ long pieces of angel hair pasta.  I worked really nicely for the kids, but the fine-ness of it, not so much.  So I got the bright idea to break my spaghetti before cooking it.  The kids loved the idea and they insist on sitting on the kitchen floor to help me break it all up… yes, I do end up with pieces of noodles flung around the kithen a bit, but it does make things a lot easier and less messy in the long run!

Broken Spaghetti for the kids

Mom's Spaghetti Sauce

Have you heard of Tastebook?  It’s a website where you can record all your recipes, and include some from major recipe sites, into a really nice looking cookbook.  It’s about $35 for a book with 100 recipes.  (If you get 10 friends to sign up though, they will give you a free book!  I need 7 more friends, so let me know if you want an invite to help me out.)  If you don’t have 100 recipes yet, you can order your book and then use credits to have more pages sent to you later.  It’s like a multi-ring binder.  If your friends are on there, you can even grab recipes from their books (if they are so kind to share).  But I like that you can edit your recipes how you like, and even include your own food photos.  So this is my spaghetti picture.  This is the spaghetti that my mom has been making since I was a kid, but I’ve simplied it (I think) by just throwing everything in the Crock Pot.  And more recently, I’ve gotten even more lazy by throwing all the veggies into the food processor, making it even quicker to get in the pot.  The original recipe called for less meat, but I like meaty sauce… for the picture I made a double batch, but I only had 1 lb. of meat on hand.

Mom’s Spaghetti Sauce
Olive oil
1 cup onion, finely chopped
1 lg. clove garlic, minced
1/4 cup fresh mushrooms, chopped
1 lb. lean ground sirloin
1 (29 oz) can tomato sauce
1 (6 oz) can tomato paste
3/4 cup (6 oz) water
3 Tbsp. red wine
1 tsp. sugar
1 stalk celery, finely chopped
1 Tbsp. fresh parley, minced
1 tsp. salt
1 small bay leaf
1 Tbsp. basil
1 tsp. oregano

Combine the last 11 ingredients in a Crock Pot.
Saute the onion and garlic in olive oil until onion is tender.  Remove with a slotted spoon to sauce.  Saute mushrooms in olive oil for a few minutes in same pan.  Add to sauce.  Cook ground beef and toss in there, too.  Cook in Crock Pot several hours on low.  You can also simmer on stove top for at least 2 hours.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2009 6:32 pm

    Oh my goodness, thanks for the tip about Tastebook! I hadn’t heard of it, but my mom and I are about to embark on the dreaded task of putting together a family cookbook, and this may just be the way to go…:)

  2. jeri permalink
    April 30, 2009 7:48 pm

    My family has always broken up spaghetti before cooking it. Heck, I do it half the time just so I can use a small pan! I’m not one for slurping or twisting my pasta, so I like cooking it that way. Lately, though, I figure why not just make penne or something similar, since it all pretty much tastes the same? So I bought a pack of pasta variety at Costco that will probably last me until 2010. Heheh. Now I just want more and more sauce recipes!

  3. msmlnd permalink
    May 1, 2009 5:33 am

    Looks yummy. I started with Tastebook but didn’t take the time to go anywhere with it. Maybe I’ll be inspired to now.

  4. May 4, 2009 4:14 pm

    I always break mine up into pieces as I put it in the pot. Can’t take the long noodles going everywhere! Much easier to eat too!

Leave a Reply

