Skip to content

Camden and Confection

May 2, 2009

I’ve finally decided on a sweater to make for myself.  I am officially going with the Camden.  It’s been really helpful reading others’ comments about the pattern on Ravelry.  I’m confident I’ll do ok with it and that my gauge is “good enough.”

I’m using Bernat Satin yarn because it’s cheap, soft, and washable.   I made my gauge swatch which was off by maybe a stitch width-wise, and a little long.  I’m ok with the length thing though, so I’m just going with it.  The color is Plum Mist Heather.  Although I’m not usually a fan of purple, this is really rich and dark dark, but I love how the light catches the blue and red flecks in the yarn.  I’m excited at the possibility of having a really cute sweater for about $20 that I made!

I’m still unsure of what I think of the bobbles, but I’ve poured over all the pictures and Ravelry, and I do like the end result.  I had to practice the bobbles.  At first I thought they were impossible… like the big, ugly one of the bottom left.  Then I realized I was doing the *knit in the front, back, front, back, and front of the next stitch* part wrong after watching this video on how to do smaller bobbles.  So I practiced some small ones, and the bigger bobble furthest right is what they are really supposed to look like.

Camden Swatch

<—-That’s a link to all the other people who’ve made/are making the Camden sweater.

The other night I also started the Confection Baby Shrug for Cosette.  I didn’t check my gauge on this one at all, and I added the little stitch down the back to fancy it up a little.  This one is really easy so far and I’m hoping it turns out big enough for Cosette, or I’ll have to give it away, which I would be a little sad about, but I like to give things away so whatever.  I also hope I don’t run out of yarn because I only have one skein of this (Paton’s Classic Wool Merino in Petal Pink) and it’s apparently been discontinued since I bought it years ago.  Well, I guess they have the non-Merino wool kind… but really I don’t know what I’m talking about… I just don’t want to have to buy more for two rows.

Shrug for Cosette

Yes, I’m using Cosette’s hair rubberbands as stitch markers… kind of handy really because I have them in 12 colors!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2009 9:30 pm

    Great projects! I have yet to try bobbles. I like the look of them in the right project. They are so cute on that sweater. I love that I can find a video for just about any knitting technique that I want to try.

  2. msmlnd permalink
    May 5, 2009 7:00 am

    Looks great, Wendy. I haven’t tried bobbles yet, but I like them. I have an Aran-type scarf that I got for a steal on clearance from J. Crew, and it has some very nice bobbles on it. I think the color you chose for the sweater is great, too. Can’t wait to see the finished product! You’re getting so experienced at knitting that I just might be a little intimidated if I knit something for you for the “Brave People Make Things” facebook dealy. =)

  3. Wendy permalink*
    May 5, 2009 8:14 am

    Oh, I totally forgot about that! People never make me things, so it’s all good! In fact, no one officially responded to my “Brave People Make Things” post.
    I’ve had so much trouble with the changes I made to the confection shrug, that I feel like a pro now fixing it. That doesn’t mean I wouldn’t like something you made just as much. I can enjoy just whatever it is without having to go through the trouble of making it myself!

  4. msmlnd permalink
    May 6, 2009 12:27 am

    What a shame! I had some people respond, but a couple didn’t follow the rules.

    That’s true, usually people who make stuff appreciate homemade things from others more than those who don’t make stuff because they know the work that goes into it. I guess it doesn’t matter how complicated or fancy it is. =)

Leave a Reply

