Skip to content

Cosette's Confection Shrug

May 5, 2009

Cosette's Shrug

I finished!  Because of that extra stitch I added down the back (YO, SL1 K2Tog PSSO, YO across the center 3 stitches), I caused myself a lot of extra grief.  For some reason, I did fine on the first half and then I started messing up almost every row!  But I was too lazy to rip out rows, so I managed to figure out how to correct up to two past rows without ripping out entire rows.  I think I would have been done at least a day earlier though if I’d just followed the pattern.

Cosette's Shrug

Cosette's Shrug Cosette's Shrug

I learned how to do the mattress stitch for seaming.  Check it out… invisible seams!  If you look closely at the right sleeve  cuff you can see where I was sick of fixing my mistakes and just wanted to be done!
Invisible seam

I’m not crazy about the idea of doing seams like that often.  I found out I’m also not fond of binding off in pattern, especially if it’s in ribbing.  All in all quite a satisfying project!  I think it’ll only fit her through summer, but that’s perfect for what it is.  She turns 3 in July, and this is the 24 mo. size.

Pattern: Confection Baby Shrug by Tonya Wagner (free via Ravelry)
Size: 24 mo.
Yarn: Paton’s Classic Wool Merino, Petal Pink
Needles: size 8, circular and dpn’s

My modifications:
YO, SL1 knitwise K2Tog PSSO, YO across the center 3 stitches.  I did this every other knitted row.  When sleeves were length I wanted I equally divided the stitches to do that stitch evenly around the cuff.

I eliminated a couple of rows that are supposed to be on the back for the 24 mo. size, but that was just because I was impatient!

Pattern calls for K1P1 ribbing, but I did K2P2.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 5:21 pm

    Adorable! Your little girl is the perfect model, so sweet. I wish this pattern came in bigger sizes so I could make it for my daughter. Nice job on the mattress stitch! It is so worth the time to do a mattress stitch instead of a whip stitch when seaming. I learned that the hard way.

  2. jeri permalink
    May 5, 2009 6:25 pm

    Cute sweater! Oh my gosh, and Cosette is just so cute it’s ridiculous.

  3. msmlnd permalink
    May 6, 2009 12:25 am

    It’s so cute! I can tell she feels very pretty in it.

  4. May 6, 2009 8:22 am

    It looks lovely and on such a beauty!

  5. May 7, 2009 7:51 am

    Such a cute shrug! I’m so glad you’re back!

  6. May 18, 2009 6:52 pm

    Way cute! The sweater is cute too!

Leave a Reply

