Skip to content

The Aqua Fuzzy

May 7, 2009

The Aqua Fuzzy

That’s what I’ve named my newest project.  The yarn for the Camden sweater is taking too long to be delivered… I mean, 7-10 days with no yarn when I’m dying to make a sweater?!  So yesterday I went to check out the Yarn Outlet in Colorado Springs.  It was a smaller store than I expected, but then I’ve never been to a local yarn store to compare.  They lady running the shop was very friendly and helpful.   I usually feel intimidated going in specialty shops, but she didn’t make me feel that way at all, and took her time answering all my probably lame questions.

I came home with 10 balls of Phildar Beaugency vert d’eau (that’s French for sea green, I learned!).  The shop buys overstock and discontinued yarns, and what I chose seems to be an old version and blend of the current Beaugency line.  There was another dark blue that was gorgeous, but I didn’t like it next to blue-jean blue, so I opted for the aqua.

I saw the Global Warming sweater and I love that it’s a short sleeved simple sweater with the cutest little puffed sleeves.  Very feminine.  I’m also eliminating the front pocket, although that is a cute detail.  I just don’t think the fuzzy yarn would look right with the pocket, too.

I got the ribbing done last night.  The pattern is only for an XS (fits a 32″ bust), but it’s so simple that you can add whatever you need and just follow her directions for waist shaping decreases and the sleeves.  I cast on 14 extra stitches… whoops!  That should be 16 since we’re starting with 2×2 ribbing… so I picked up a couple extra stitches at the end of the first round rather than ripping and redoing!  I’m hoping that’s not too much extra room, but I don’t like my clothes to fit like a second skin anyway. I’ll also be adding a couple inches to the over all length.

And happy Mother’s Day to me… these two batches of yarn are my present from the husband.  😉  And Happy Mother’s Day to the rest of you moms.  I’m bad with holidays, so I’m sure you won’t see anything about it by the actual day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jeri permalink
    May 7, 2009 12:32 pm

    good color!

  2. msmlnd permalink
    May 7, 2009 10:07 pm

    Cute– can’t wait to see it all done. Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

