Skip to content

Giving and Getting

May 14, 2009

I’m trying to think of what I could do for Sew, Mama, Sew’s May Giveaway Day.  Not that I want to make yet another thing (I don’t really have anything ready to give away), but I just like making and giving things away.  I’m thinking I need to get back in to the baby bootie and bonnet making though.  I’ve got about 10 days to decide… and I’m sure I’ll decide on day 10.  Hmm, maybe I can try my hand at a new design…

Meanwhile, I’ve started the Camden sweater.  I really like the yarn I chose for this one since it’s so soft.  Maybe not the best, but good enough for what it is.  And because I have crafter’s ADD I also started a Shawl Collar Vest at the same time.  For that one, I’m using a dark foresty jade green 50/50 acrylic/wool blend.  It’s very soft and kooshy so far.  And talk about a deal!  I went back to The Yarn Outlet to exchange the 5 skeins I had left from the Aqua Fuzzy sweater, and I got 7 skeins AND $3.75 back!  I felt bad because the lady jokingly said, “That’s not supposed to happen!” as she was giving me my change back.  Although the place might not have the best selection, I’m happy to go back for the customer service.  In this particular yarn they had like 4 different dark greens… Green is one of those colors that I either look really good in because it brings out my eyes, or it’s really bad because it brings out the yellow/olive hues in my complexion making me look sickly.  So luckily they had a mirror so that I could hold them all up to my face to decide.  To which, another customer said, “You’re making something for yourself?!” Ummmm… yeah.  Because I’m selfish.  If I’m gonna spend hours on something, you better believe I want something to show for it.

Camden Beginnings
SCV Ribs

But seriously, I need to make a baby gift by Tuesday me thinks…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. msmlnd permalink
    June 9, 2009 3:43 pm

    What kind of yarn is the purple? I’ve been looking and looking for some purple yarn for a sweater I’m knitting for a friend, and I like the look of that.

  2. Wendy permalink*
    June 10, 2009 9:55 am

    The purple is Bernat Satin Plum Mist Heather (or Plum Heather Mist…?). It’s 100% acrylic… initially I really liked it because it was so soft and shiny. Then I read reviews, and I have to agree that it’s getting fuzzy as I work and I’m not sure how well it will really hold up in those two areas. I’m hoping since the pattern was supposed to be for something more fuzzy anyway that it’ll be ok in the long run!

  3. msmlnd permalink
    June 18, 2009 11:33 am

    That’s why I like it! I saw it in the store, and I thought it was so soft and pretty. I didn’t buy it because my pattern is for bulky yarn, but if I can’t find the right bulky, I might just alter the pattern to work for that yarn. I’ll keep the “fuzzy” aspect in mind! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

