Skip to content

Meh on the First Sweater

May 14, 2009

My First Knitted Sweater

My First Knitted SweaterNow that it’s done, I’m glad I made this sweater first.  I’m not crazy about the yarn anymore.  I still like the idea of the sleeves, but I don’t like how high the neck line is.  The problem is that my shoulders are kind of wide, so after knitting over the bust I should have increased so I had an extra inch or two.  The way it turned out, the sleeves pull up on my shoulders and I think it just looks kind of silly instead of a gently puffed sleeve.  Part of me wants to rip off the top and redo it, but a much bigger part of me would be happier giving it to someone who would fit into it better.  I’m blocking it now just to see if that helps.  I can’t imagine how short this would have been being 2″ shorter in he body!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2009 7:55 pm

    I like it overall — I wonder if the issue you’re noticing about the sleeves isn’t entirely about needing extra width — could it be partly related to the raglan styling? I don’t think I’ve ever seen puffed sleeves on a raglan… If in my imagination I cut the raglan seam and tilt the sleeve so that seam is vertical, it looks better to me.

  2. May 16, 2009 12:27 pm

    It turned out so cute and looks cute on you! Sorry it doesn’t feel right to you.

  3. May 18, 2009 6:49 pm

    It’s beautiful! The color and the yarn choice make it look so feminine. I love the puff sleeves on you and bet you end up wearing it all the time!

  4. May 27, 2009 9:51 am

    I think it is a beautiful sweater! You are quite talented. I have not progressed past scarves and hats.

Leave a Reply

