Skip to content

Heartwalk Scarflet

May 20, 2009

Heartwalk Scarflet

This semi-quick, “interrupt your other projects” project was inspired by both the Sew, Mama, Sew May Giveaway Day and the American Heart Association’s Start! Colorado Springs Heart Walk. Red for heart disease, and the design itself reminds me of the awareness ribbons. I’m doing the Heart Walk with my friend Trisha who developed Peripartum Cardiomyopathy (PPCM) in May of 2007 after the birth of her daughter. I’ve set a goal to raise $200 for the Walk, and would appreciate any donation you would be willing to make.

Trishas tattoo for Peripartum Cardiomyopathy (PPCM) awareness

Trisha's tattoo for Peripartum Cardiomyopathy (PPCM) awareness

Heartwalk Scarflet


Pattern: Anthro-Inspired Scarflet, free pattern on Ravelry by Kim Seio of Chroni Ennui.
Yarn: Paton’s Classic Wool Merino (100% wool) in Bright Red
Needle: Size 10/6mm (it was the only free needle I had! I think the pattern calls for an 8.)
The flower is my own random crochet creation addition.

Heartwalk Scarflet

Come back May 27-June 1 for the official giveaway!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jeri permalink
    May 20, 2009 2:56 pm

    cool idea!

  2. May 27, 2009 10:04 pm

    I just got the chills. I was on your blog entering the May Day giveaway and I saw the scarf. It reminded me of PPCM (Peri partum Cardiomyopathy) which i have been diagnosed with. I had a baby 4 months ago and felt awful, almost died. That is so crazy, they say you will never meet anyone else that has it because it’s so uncommon. Will you give her my email? Is that too weird? Thanks

    Barb

    http://www.thecharons.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

