Skip to content

Sewing Machine Meme

June 25, 2009

IMG_4331

Sew Machine MonthWhat brand and model do you have?
Janome 4623 LE

How long have you had it?
7 1/2 years.

How much does that machine cost (approximately)?
$300

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)?
quilts, handbags, clothing… probably in that order for frequency.

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get?
I tend to use my machine every other day for 6 months, and then it sees no action for 6-8 months.  (I haven’t touched my machine since March and just dragged it out today for the picture!)

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name?
I’ve never been into naming inanimate objects, but I do love my machine. I think she’s pretty with her pink and curves.

What features does your machine have that work well for you?
Needle up/down button, automatic button hole maker, hard case/cover, see-through top-loading bobbin
I bought a 5 piece I think?) set of quilting feet – I love the walking foot.  The applique foot is handy.  The so-called “perfect 1/4″ foot” isn’t so perfect.
I never really use all the special stitches, but I guess it’s nice to know they are there if I ever need them?  I wish it had a plain old blanket stitch.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?
Can’t think of a thing!

Do you have a great story to share about your machine (i.e., Found it under the Christmas tree? Dropped it on the kitchen floor? Sewed your fingernail to your zipper?, Got it from your Great Grandma?, etc.!)? We want to hear it!
Nothing too exciting.  I took every sewing class possible in jr. high and high school, but never had a sewing machine at home.  My mom finally got this for me for my 24th birthday, and I have to say it’s my most favorite gift I’ve ever received.  The first thing I made was a baby quilt and bedding set for my not-yet-conceived first child!

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?
Yes, for all the above reasons.  I think for $300 it’s a great machine.  I’ve only had one problem with it ever and it was easily fixed with a regular check-up and oiling at the shop.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine?
In no particular order…

  • What you are going to sew
  • What sort of convenience features you want
  • How much you would use it
  • Quality of the machine’s construction (ie. ‘ve heard a certain popular brand has a lot of plastic innards which sounds odd to me and not very reliable)
  • What sort of attachments are available and how much you’re going to have to spend extra on what you need
  • Price for quality (I’d rather spend a little more for something that would last then get something “cheap” that’ll konk out after a couple years)

Do you have a dream machine?
I’ve been so satisfied with what I have that I’ve never had need to look around.  When I get old enough and the kids have moved out, I would love to convert one of their rooms into a craft room and have a long-arm quilting machine, maybe something that does embroidery, too.  Let’s face it… if I was rich I would have every kind of machine I needed, and they would all be computerized.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2009 10:25 pm

    very informative. thanks

  2. msmlnd permalink
    June 28, 2009 3:54 am

    I have a Janome, too. My parents gave it to me as a gift, and I love it!

Trackbacks

  1. Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog » » Sewing Machine Master List

Leave a Reply

