Skip to content

Enchiladas

July 13, 2009

I’ve really missed having a good, authentic, Mexican enchilada dinner since moving from Southern California.  No offense, but CO just doesn’t know how to do Mexican.  I’ve never made enchiladas before just because I don’t like the canned enchilada sauces at all.  But I was at Costco last week and got to sample the Del Real beans and rice (yum!), and that just inspired me to try some homemade enchiladas.

Oh yes.
Enchiladas

That’s what an enchilada plate is supposed to look (and taste) like!
Enchiladas

I’ve always get enchiladas rancheras if I can, so I used this recipe for ranchero sauce from Epicurious.  I wanted my husband to eat them, and the sight of vegetables scares him away, so I pureed the sauce after cooking the veggies.  I forgot to add the cayenne pepper, but enchiladas generally haven’t been spicey when I’ve had them anyway.  It took about an hour to make the sauce, cook it, prepare the enchiladas, and cook them. After making the sauce, I fried corn tortillas in oil for  a couple minutes and let them drain on a paper towel.  I dip just one side of the tortilla in the sauce, place a good handful of cheese on the sauced side, roll it up and place it seam-side-down in a dish.  Then I poured the remaining sauce over all and topped with more cheese.  I threw some left over taco meat in a few of them, which the husband liked also.  Then I baked them for about 25 minutes at 375.

So I was shocked, literally shocked, when my husband simply said they were “good.”  And later he said that they are the best he’s ever had.  Oh yeah!  Not bad at all.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2009 11:20 am

    Oooo, yum! Thanks for the recipe.

    Is there a 3 (Tres) Margarita’s your way? I like them for a quick Mexican fix.

  2. Wendy permalink*
    July 13, 2009 12:41 pm

    We do… we went there once and were not impressed enough to go back. In CA always had a mom-and-pop-type favorite restaurant… the chains just don’t do it for us. Hacienda in Denver is the best I’ve had out here, but I’m not driving an hour for Mexican, ya know?

  3. Jenn permalink
    July 13, 2009 2:06 pm

    Those look awesome, Wendy!!

  4. msmlnd permalink
    July 23, 2009 8:48 pm

    Wow, that looks exactly like it would in a restaurant! You’re really talented!

  5. December 2, 2012 9:43 am

    Wendy, I just happen to find your blog because I was trying to find out how to make enchilada’s rancheras and yours came up.

    I don’t like the regular red/mole sauce they put on cheese enchiladas in the restaurants because there always seems to be a bit of bite, or bitter taste to them, and I don’t like that at all. I LOVE the ranchera/ranchero sauce so much better, like WAY better. But I’m not just looking for cheese enchiladas with ranchera sauce recipes either; I’m also looking for really, really excellent authentic refried beans and Mexican rice recipes too.

    I am VERY picky when it comes to Mexican food. I know exactly what excellent, flavorful, sensational, savory, and well executed Mexican food tastes like, and sadly I‘ve only a handful of places that can do can accomplish this. Three were in Idaho, and two down here in Southern California, which is where I live now. I’ve eaten at a lot of Mexican eateries, but I’ve ONLY found a handful of them that know what they are doing. It’s very tough to find one or two very, very good Mexican places that make everything excellent. You can find places that might make one or two items really, really great, but then they fail at everything else. That almost always seems to be the case in every place I try. You would think that living here in Southern California would be like living in Mexican food heaven, huh? NOPE! Not even close. The very, very best Mexican places I have ever found are in Idaho, and then a couple here in Southern California. It’s funny, but Idaho has some of the best ethnic food I’ve ever had. There are a lot of ethnic people who live there, which is probably why. They go there for all the un-monopolized business opportunities, low or no taxes, clean and fresh air, no traffic, lot’s of elbow room, good people, close-knit community, FANTASTIC SCHOOLS, low/no crime, good healthcare, and so MUCH more that you cannot or will not ever get living in big city. We are ready to move real soon and get the hell out of here. It’s horrible living here, absolutely horrible. These cities have become WAY, WAY to big. Traffic is worse then a nightmare now, and no one has done anything to fix it either. And no one even protests or complains about it either. That is the problem when it comes to living in a big city, no one gives a damn at all. Well, maybe it’s like that everywhere now, who knows? LOL-LOL!! I lived in Idaho back in the early 1970’s to 1980’s, and it was just an unbelievable time back then, and such a great place to live and grow up at. I have no idea how it is now though, so maybe it’s all changed since then. Who knows? I WAS an excellent place to raise families, go to school, own a business, and so much more. Ethnic people who moved there could also source ALL their FRESH, CLEAN, SAFE, and NON-FACTORY food from local farmers, ranchers, producers, etc., there, and they used grow and produce some of THE very best meat, produce, dairy, fruit, etc., up there. That is why all their food was so damn good there then. They had fantastic Chinese, Thai, Mexican, Italian, BBQ, American, and everything else there then. It was the very same in Washington, Oregon, Canada, etc., also. I used to travel all over there back then and they have some of the best food in those states back then.

    Anyway, I live here in Southern California now, and I have only found two Mexican restaurants here that know how to make all the dishes correctly, as they should be. I don’t know what they use or how they make their dishes from beginning to end, but I do know that they do NOT bake enchiladas; they only place them under the broiler for a couple of minutes after everything has been plated, in order to melt the cheese they sprinkle on top. Then they take them out quickly and serve them.

    I’m not sure what the process is, or the recipe, or mixing method, or how the construct each dish or sauce or appetizer, because I have not been in the kitchens where they made them, so I have no idea what they use, what their recipe or ingredients are, or how they put the together from beginning to end. I just know that they do melt the cheese at the very, very end, right before they serve it to their customers. Other then that, I know nothing else. I do know they do NOT bake them though.

    I don’t know how they make their beans, rice, rellenos, sauces, fajitas, tortilla’s, etc., either, but I would love to find out.

    I have been trying to find out as much as I possible can on the Internet. That’s when I happen to see your blog.

    And I saw the photo (above) of your plate with the cheese enchiladas, beans, and rice on it, and boy do the beans and rice look FABULOUS!! They look really, really, really good. Did you make these yourself or are they from a store? If so, what brand or kind are they and where did you get them or how did you make them? If you made them from scratch, can you give me the recipes for them? I would really appreciate it very much.

    You can email me directly if you like. I tried to find a way to contact you directly, but there is no email or contact page on here. So please email me, ok?

    Thank you,
    DJ –

Leave a Reply

