Skip to content

Whirlpool

October 15, 2009
tags:

I’m done with my first pattern!  It’s currently being tested by 7 people.

Whirlpool before blocking Whirlpool backish

Whirlpool

Whirlpool side

I’ve written the pattern to include 3 sizes: small – 18″, medium – 20″, and large – 22″. It is fairly easy to adjust either way by just eliminating an increase row. Once test knitting is complete, I’ll be offering the pdf pattern via my etsy shop for just $3. The blue hat was done in Red Heart Eco-Ways Bamboo Wool. The sample at Joann’s shows that you can felt it, and it comes out shiny! Not that I am felting with it, but I like the soft, smooth texture of it. The charcoal one below was done in a 100% alpaca, DK weight.

Charcoal Whirlpool Charcoal Whirlpool

In other news since my last post, my husband was offered a great job just a week after getting laid off. Praise God! So my crafting gets to go on as planned. The other “secret” project was set aside while I worked on this hat, but I’m still hoping to finish it up so that it can be submitted somewhere for perhaps a fall issue. My next thought is to create some sort of luscious hooded scarf that wold be good for the chilly fall weather we’re getting here… since my med. weight jacket doesn’t have a hood. I just want a hood that doesn’t have a bit point on the back of my head though.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. msmlnd permalink
    October 15, 2009 3:44 pm

    Very cute! I love the button!

  2. October 15, 2009 5:21 pm

    Wonderful hat! Congrats on your first pattern!

  3. October 15, 2009 6:52 pm

    Say, that’s a keeper! Funny weather we’re having. Thank goodness we don’t have to worry about (more) snow until Halloween, right?

    Thanks for sharing the pattern *and* the good news about your Hubby’s employment.

  4. January 8, 2010 3:19 pm

    simply gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

