Skip to content

Sweet Eleanor

January 25, 2010

Here’s a peek at my latest design. I’d had this one in the works for a while in scarf form, but when I learned about Eleanor, the daughter of a friend at church, I wanted to make a chemo cap for her and knew this pattern was perfect.  Eleanor is a beautiful 2 1/2 year old girl, whose parents discovered she had cancer on 1/8/10. The next day Eleanor underwent surgery to remove her kidney which was a solid 6” tumor, a cancer known as Wilms’ tumor.  Starting the third week of January 2010, Eleanor will be receiving chemo treatments for the next 8 months in hopes of shrinking masses present on her lungs.

Sweet Eleanor Hat Sweet Eleanor Hat

Eleanor has received the one pictured above and I’m working on a second one in an adult size now.  I must admit I really love this design, and I have ooo’ed and aah’ed over my testers’ project pictures.   My test knitters have been invaluable on this one!  I haven’t worked with cables much, so they’ve given me some great advice and found all my little mistakes.  Hats off to the Free Pattern Testers group on Ravelry.

The hat is very stretchy, and will be offered in two sizes (16″ or 19″ finished).  It’ll be available for $5, and all proceeds will go directly to the Dickson family to help with medical expenses.  Please keep Eleanor in your prayers as she goes through these coming difficult months.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 1:52 am

    Awww, Wendy, I’d wondered where you’d gone! I am so in love with this hat, but I’m thoroughly convinced I will never cable.

    I wish your little friend and her family well. We’re a chemo-n-cancer family, too. Attitude is everything.

  2. Shelda permalink
    January 28, 2010 8:05 pm

    Hello I would love to purchase this pattern to test and keep as the childs size for my granddaughter.ALSO as adults for a dear friend that also has cancer.AS STATED I WILL PURCHASE BOTH AS SOON AS POSSIBLE,my friend is terminal.
    Shelda

Leave a Reply

