Skip to content

Ravelympics Review

March 19, 2010

I was a little disappointed with my Ravelympic accomplishments, though I know I shouldn’t be.  It’s just that I wanted to finish a wearable garment for me.

I completed two Ariel Unwinds:
This was a hat I’d made for Cosette that was just boring and not cute, made with Wool-Ease Thick and Quick. Someday I think I’ll make a Shroom with the yarn.

I also put this sweater for Connor out of it’s misery. Though cute, my son was not going to have the itchiness of Fisherman’s Wool… what was I thinking?!
Connor's Sweater

I think I just need to follow patterns more often instead of starting everything thinking, “Gee, I could write a pattern for that!” and making my life difficult.

I completed two WIPs:
Pattern: A Better Bucket by Amy Swenson
Yarn: Malabrigo worsted in black forest
I had to finish this one anyway for a friend’s baby shower… actually it was an expectant mommy shower.
Bucket of Gray

Pattern: Mustard Scarf by Jane Richmond
Yarn: Malabrigo worsted in Verde Adriana
I pushed this one… I kind of got bored with it, and with blocking it came out to JUST the size it was supposed to be. But I just didn’t care for it (though it looks great on Jane!), so it did end up getting frogged and is being reincarnated in some French Press felted slippers.

This one would have qualified for the sweaters event, but I didn’t finish it. I’d started it, but it was too small, so I started over with a tubular cast-on even… 4 days before the end of Ravelympics.
Pattern: Sexy Vesty by Canary Knits
Yarn: Knit Picks Shine Worsted in green apple (it’s not quite THAT shocking green, though it’s close – that’s a night shot)
I really like this vest. I also think it’s very cool that it looks good on everybody in the projects section. Sadly, although I did get a good chunk of it done, it hasn’t seen action since the Ravelympics. I need KALs I think…

The thing I ended up working on the most?… Well, I can’t show you because it’s been submitted to Knitty!! I’m really happy with the design, and completed a few test knits in the midst of Ravelympics. The wait to hear back could be as long as 3+ months, but here’s hoping!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

