Skip to content

Mal March Review

April 1, 2010

I really just kind of happened on the whole Malabrigo March and the Junkies group on Ravelry, but boy was that fun!

To start, I made a Sweet Eleanor for my daughter in worsted “Dusty.”  I wasn’t crazy about the color originally, but once it was knit up I love it!  Mal worsted is really perfect for this hat, so I added it to the suggested yarns for the pattern.
Sweet Eleanor Hat for Cosette

Sweet Eleanor

It’s been so fun for me to see everyone’s projects (57 so far!). Over 460 copies of the pattern have been sold and over $2,100 has gone directly to the Dickson family for Eleanor’s Medical Fund! The pattern has been favorited by over 700 people, too. Thank you to everyone who has played a part in making it successful and contributing to Eleanor’s care. You can continue to follow her progress here.

As I was working on the hat I randomly decided to make Susie’s Reading Mitts. I like how they look on everyone else. But after two attempts, one on DPNs where my knitting looked uneven and another using magic loop, I decided these were just not my style. I’ve got tiny wrists and long skinny fingers… if I even make mitts again they will be in fingering weight, not worsted! The yarn is Mal worsted in blue surf.
Failed Mitt Failed Mitt

Then I randomly decided I wanted some of those French Press Slippers that are so gosh darn cute. I pretty much just start things on a whim, often. For these I used Mal worsted in Verde Adriana, with Fisherman’s Wool in oatmeal for the soles. They turned out super cute, but I didn’t pay attention and left one in the washer just a minute or two longer than I should have and it turned a just a little too small for comfort. I’m passing them on to my sister or niece, and will make myself another pair from stash (will have to be Cascade 220) someday. I have one sole made! By the way, this navaho knitting tutorial works great for the 3 strand knitting of the sole from one skein.
French Press Felted Slippers

French Press Slippers

Finally, five days before the end of March, after holding on to the Mal Sock in Abril all month trying to decide what to do with it, I cast on Aeolian. I LOVE this shawlette. It’s just gorgeous. Five days later I was through all but the Edge Chart… 18 rows left to go. I still have a decent little ball, but I suspect I’ll run out about 10 stitches before the end of the bind off, because isn’t that the way it always goes?? I can’t wait to block it! I had no idea when I started that it was a fully charted pattern with very little instruction otherwise. It was a little intimidating at first because I often work from the written instructions more and refer to charts, but it’s actually been really simple.
Aeolian Shawlette

I’ve decided I really like themed months for knitting. Ravelympics was good for me, as was Malabrigo March… I think I might focus on shawls for April. I did also start Andrea’s Shawl (having to start over on a larger size because of my gauge though), and I’m thinking about designing a shawl of my own if I can figure it out. It’s kind of funny because I imagine my non-knitting friends thinking, “Shawls? Really? That’s so grandma!” but they have really grown on me and are really just fancy scarves.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 2:03 pm

    Beautiful knitting!
    If we weren’t in that “feels like Spring but could snow another 2 months” phase I’d be hot for those slippers right now, too!

Leave a Reply

