Skip to content

On a Break

April 15, 2010

Here’s my finished Aeolian. I love it! I’ve admired this pattern for a while. I was a little afraid of doing just a charted pattern, but it was actually very simple. It went fairly quick in the beginning, too, but really slowed down for those last looong rows.

Aeolian Shawl

Done in Malabrigo Sock in Abril.
Aeolian Shawl

Aeolian Shawl

And now, unfortunately, I am forced to take a knitting break as I seem to have a ganglion cyst. It’s bad enough that my wrist is achy, and I’m getting occasional tingling/numbness in my hand. I’m afraid a second bump may be forming as well. I’m hoping to get in to see a hand surgeon in the next few weeks to see about removing them as I don’t want to deal with draining it only to have it return (as they tend to do in 50% of the cases). I’m guessing surgery will put me out of commission for a week or two also.

A little update on the Sweet Eleanor pattern: 58 projects currently on Ravelry, and over $2200 has gone to Eleanor’s Medical Fund!

In about a week and a half our family is off to California. It’ll be my first time back in almost 3 years, so I’m excited to get to see some old friends and perhaps check out some yarn stores that I never knew about before.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 3:03 am

    Wowie! That is a masterpiece! I can’t imagine the concentration on a piece like that. It is truly beautiful.

    BTW, I had one of those cysts years ago, one day it disappeared and never returned. Odd.

  2. Shelda permalink
    April 17, 2010 12:34 am

    beautiful work , I also have had these cysts and had them called book cysts ,because people used to hit them with a large book to pop them .I had one when my DR.was away that was painful and tried this it worked that was 17 yrs ago the longest that they have stayed gone.
    lol
    you might want to give it a whack

  3. Wendy permalink*
    April 17, 2010 12:41 am

    No thank you! And actually my GP said that for where this cyst is, I would likely break a bone if it were whacked with a book.

  4. April 26, 2010 7:57 pm

    That is gorgeous! I would love to see you when you’re in Cali. I’ll try to contact you through FB, or let me know your schedule.

Leave a Reply

