Skip to content

Fresh Green Apple

July 22, 2010

Knit Picks Shine Worsted, Green Apple

I’ve had this Knit Picks Shine Worsted in Green Apple for almost a year. My original plan when I bought it was to make Canary Knits’ Sexy Vesty.  It’s a really cute vest, and one of the things I liked about it was that it looked good on just about everyone in their Ravlery projects.

Well, me being the person who can’t just follow a pattern, and besides the fact that it’s technically pattern notes and not a sized pattern, I tried to make adjustments. My first try didn’t go well, so it sat for a long time with just a couple inches of ribbing. Then I got inspired during the Ravelympics, and I worked probably 7 inches up the body… and stopped, and hated the shaping I was trying to add while trying to keep the lace going.   Why didn’t I just settle for a little extra stockinette between the lace on the sides, I don’t know!  So I finally gave in today… another day, another plan, another yarn for that one.

I was browsing my favorited tank tops on Ravelry and was reminded of Fresh Mint, and immediately did an impulse buy.  I’ve been working on two of my own designs lately, and was getting frustrated with one, so it’s time for me to do something else for a while.  I’m also waiting to get two patterns back from my tech editor, so I need distraction.  And if I can finish a tee in 10 days, surely I can knock out a tank top before Summer is over and actually wear it a few times before it starts snowing in Oct.

I started this afternoon, and one 75 yd. ball later, I finished the front panel – yay!  The green apple color is a little, tiny bit shocking, so I’ll resist the urge to take a night time shot in yellow light with over exposed flash.  But I’m really liking it, and it’s so fitting for the sweet leaf lace.  This yarn is so soft, too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

