Skip to content

Polly’s Style Turkey Burger

August 25, 2010

When I was in college I worked at a little SoCal family owned chain restaurant called Polly’s.  I worked there for 3 years in college, then returned a few years later and was there for a year as a newlywed… that’s a long time to work at a ho-hum restaurant!  And as a college student, I went ahead and ate there a lot, too.  I kind of miss it.  But as a server trainer, I was also often disappointed when I went to another store and got crappy service and mediocre food.  Ah, the joys of being friendly with the cooks and getting customized meals in return.

One of the unique things they had there was their turkey burger.  Not your run of the mill regular hamburger replaced with a turkey patty, but an actual unique recipe turkey burger.  So now that I’ve been away for so long and live in another state, I decided to try to duplicate it as best I could.  Granted, I don’t fresh bake my own buns or have the recipe for the meat concoction, but all the other ingredients make it close enough.

This is it… it might sound odd but it’s really good! I just grill my cut up zucchini and onions (they added mushrooms, which I don’t care for) in a skillet with a little olive oil.
Wheat Bun
Thousand Island Dressing
Slice of Tomato
Turkey Patty, seasoned to taste
Grilled veggies mix of zucchini, onions, and mushrooms
Cheese – such as Jack or Provolone

I do, however, make my own thousand island dressing, which is a recipe I came up with after some trial and error and looking over lots of other thousand island recipes.

1/2 cup mayo
2 Tbsp. ketchup
2 Tbsp. sweet pickle relish (with liquid pressed out)
1 Tbsp. dried minced onion
1 1/2 tsp. sugar
2 tsp. white vinegar
2-4 drops hot sauce (such as Cholula)

Combine all ingredients.  Cover and chill for at least 30 minutes before serving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

