Skip to content

Sweater Making

August 18, 2011

One of my goals for this next year is to design just one, just ONE, sweater.  I can do it.  Really, I can.  But I’m really scared of grading my pattern.  I’m confident in my ability to make a sweater, just not in writing the pattern for multiple sizes.  So I thought I might take you on my journey.

Knitwear Design Workshop by Shirley Paden

My favorite local yarn store is going out of business.  I was recently able to pick up this book for 30% off as a result (…and then I just noticed that Amazon has it for 34% off the cover price, soooo I guess I was just supporting a dying business.  Oh well.  Anyway!)  I also have the older edition of Sweater Design in Plain English by Maggie Righetti.  And Ysolda’s Little Red in the City is definitely on my to-buy list.  Between those and the wealth of info on the interwebs, surely I can figure this stuff out!

I’m thinking that if I wanna learn how to design a sweater, I need to just get more comfortable making sweaters.  I have a couple (few?) sweaters on the needles and in my immediate brain queue.  I love Heidi Kirrmaier.  I want to be her when I grow up.  I just love her style.  I have Buttercup on the needles out of some Knit Picks Cotlin… and it’s barely seen the light of day since I started it, oh, 18 months ago?  I’m gonna get on that.  I believe I had JUST gotten to the part where you’re working in the round, on the lace bodice.  I did finish her Sweet Peasy sweater for my daughter which turned out really cute.  Someday I’m also going to make Vitamin D.  Already bought the pattern, just need to get Buttercup done… seriously.  This striped Vitamin D is my favorite!!

Sweat Peasy Cardigan by Heidi Kirrmaier

Kohl's Sweater Chunky Sweater
Another project on the needles is this chunky red sweater.  I bought the sweater on the left at Kohl’s.  It was fairly inexpensive and super soft, and honestly I bought it to reverse engineer it.  Easier said than done since it’s in pieces and I was going for something in the round.  Anyway, the pink sweater is made out of acrylic yarn, so after wearing it a couple times, it’s kind of a fuzzy mess.  Also, my 5 year old daughter is like a cat.  She likes to sleep wrapped up in things that smell like me apparently!  So she claimed that sweater pretty fast and it’s a lovey now, snags, fuzz, and all.  Not wanting to copy it exactly, I started in the round, and I’m just holding them up against each other as I go.   I also obviously went with a different lace panel though I did like the simplicity of the pink one.  I’m working with a Cascade 128 Superwash Chunky Yarn on size 13 needles (the pink one is at a pretty loose gauge).  I think I only bought 4 skeins, so I might be pushing it on having enough for the collar… we’ll figure that out later!

Although I hate seaming, also wanted to do a totally pieced sweater, which is why I’ve also got Aidez on the needles.  Yes, lets start with chunky yarns!  I think I might end up loving Aidez like a lot.

My issues before getting to this sweater stuff is that I have a slight shawl addiction, and I’ve been working on secret knitting all year.  I’ve got a new design on the needles going great.  It’ll be a crescent shawl and it’s worked in Yarn Love’s Elizabeth Bennet.  I’m also anxiously waiting to hear back on a Knitty submission for Deep Fall… so one way or another I should have my first pattern of 2011 out by the end of Sept.  I’m a little sad that it’s taken me so long to produce more patterns this year.  And then there was my super secret knitting which I’m totally done with, so that is some relief.  I should just start switching between projects to change things up a bit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

