Skip to content

Maui Salad

October 6, 2011

I had this salad while in Maui, which at first did not seem like it would be that impressive. It was just romaine with some dressing, some fruit salsa, and a grilled chicken breast. But I swear it got better as I ate. And though at first glance I thought I’d never finish such a huge salad, I ended up scarfing down the whole thing.

So tonight I made a pretty good duplicate. But I ate it so fast, I don’t have a picture!

Start with some nice crisp romaine lettuce. Lightly dress the salad with Creamy Oriental Salad Dressing. Can I just say I’ve been looking for this very salad dressing in bottled form forever?! (Ok, only since I was a server about a decade ago…) Who knew it was so easy to make at home?

Throw a big spoonful of pineapple salsa on top of that. I used this recipe, which turned out great. I also had some peaches and strawberries on hand, so those got tossed in as well.

Cook yourself a chicken breast. Or use some shredded rotisserie chicken. I just baked one which I’d let marinade in the dressing for 30 minutes. Threw it in a 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes on a foil-lined baking sheet, for easy clean up.

Yum!  Super tasty, bright, fresh salad.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

