Skip to content

A2 One-Two Buckle My Shoe and Furniture with Personality

April 16, 2012

What’s this?!  A quilt block?!  For the first time in 3 1/2 years!  That’s right, boys and girls.

A2 One-Two Buckle My Shoe

I’ve had a super productive week, while my in-laws were in town, no less (not that that had anything to do with it).  On Thursday, I made my way to the American Classic Marketplace, which is a huge antique mall here in the Springs.  I scored a nice bookcase for pretty cheap – it’s got a thick layer of glossy off-white paint, but it’s got curvy lines and personality – kind of shabby chic.  Last year around this time, I scored a cute bedside table (more personality) and headboard/footboard for my daughters room.  I sanded the bejesus out of the table and repainted it.

Table before Table after

This weekend, I finally got around to finishing just the headboard. But I did get a bed frame and got it attached so that my daughters mattress is finally off the floor!

Refinishing headboards

She’s looking a little crazy…
Big Girl Room

I went back to the antique mall today on a hunt for a coffee table. I found a really cute one, with personality! for cheap again… and I realized that I bought the bedside table, bed, coffee table, and an end table all from the same vendor about a year apart. I must like her taste. So this coffee table looks like a bench though. That was the first thing my husband said when I brought it in, “You bought a bench?” “No, I bought a coffee table with PERSONALITY!” The jury is out… it really does look like a bench, but it was clearly marked as a coffee table, and will be used as such. She styled it so darn well in her booth! The more I stare at it, the more I kind of love it.

Coffee Table or Bench?

All that to say… I bought a bookcase on Thursday. Which means I had all this space for books that are shoved in closets or on the tops of our other overloaded bookcases. And I have space for all my craft books now. As I went through all of them, I got an itch to sew. I have so many great quilt books! And when I was done getting all the books in place I pulled out the Dear Jane book, and all the fabrics, and my spreadsheet… I had 3 blocks already in the works, so A2 is one that I’d started and messed up. Then when I went to redo it I just got all my freezer paper pieces together and then put all of it away for 3 1/2 years! It took a good hour or two to reorganize myself again, but I have great intentions of knocking out a few of these blocks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

