Skip to content

Dear Jane C2, C5, A4, D2

April 20, 2012

Wednesday and Thursdays work, 50th – 53rd blocks complete…

C2 Streak of Lightning. I drafted this a little different from the book to avoid having to hand appliqué the outer diamonds. Machine sewn, freezer paper pieced. Completed 4-18-12.
C2 Streak of Lightning (50/169)

C5 Eye of the Cyclone. This one I also fudged a little – the outer circle pieces I cut out backwards, but I didn’t feel like fixing it, so it’s just backwards from the real block. Straight lines are machine stitched, curved are hand stitched. Completed 4-19-12
C5 Eye of the Cyclone (51/169)

A4 Courtney’s Stethoscope, completed 4-19-12. I did fussy cuts on this one and love the way it turned out.
A4 Courtney's Stethoscope (52/169)

D2 Mouse in a Mirror, completed 4-19-12. Freezer paper pieced on the machine, then reverse appliquéd some of those tiny white triangles and the center by hand. I don’t usually keep track of time it takes me to do these, but this one was time consuming and took about 3 hours start to finish – that includes drafting on the paper, and the hand stitching. This might be one of my favorite blocks.
D2 Mouse in a Mirror (53/169)

So my goal with this “season” of working on the quilt is to complete the top left quadrant. I’ve got about 20 or so blocks left to do, and seeing as I did 40+ blocks on the first round, I think I can manage this. Here’s my progress on this quadrant.

Seeing them all together makes me think that I might move some around once I get to sewing them all together.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 23, 2012 6:25 am

    Your work and progress is very impressive!

Leave a Reply

