Skip to content

Ticker Tape Doll Quilt

May 2, 2012

Stealing the idea from the Mini Quilt Swap group on Flickr, I decided to make myself another doll quilt. I’m racking up quite a bit of scraps making the Dear Jane Quilt, so these are mostly scraps from it. I kind of wanted to get an idea for what my Dear Jane fabrics could looks like together when it’s all said and done.

Ticker Tape Doll Quilt

I spent a good few hours probably putting together my quilt sandwich (the quick part) and then picking out and laying out my scraps. I suppose part of the idea of a Ticker Tap quilt is that you pick and sew as you go… but that’s almost offensive to my sense of … I don’t know, I just don’t like that. And I don’t want another one of these really. So I lay it all out, and pinned each piece with a single pin just to have the idea in place.

Then the sewing/quilting went fairly quick. It took me a couple sittings. And because it was all planned out I could just move from piece to piece without cutting my threads and starting over each piece.

Ticker Tape Doll Quilt

I love the way the colors fade into each other, and the lines that were created by mixing the squares and rectangles with a few triangles here and there.

In keeping with the themes of scrappy and raw edges, for the binding I cut strips and sewed them to each other overlapping with one raw edge out. And I bound it as usual, but did machine sew on the back to make quick time of it.

Ticker Tape Doll Quilt

And up on the Wall of Quilts it goes! Lurve! There’s nothing wrong with just “wallpapering” a room with mini quilts, right?
Ticker Tape Doll Quilt

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2012 8:34 pm

    Beautiful! Just curious, what does the back look like?

    • Wendy permalink*
      May 3, 2012 4:56 am

      The back is just 1 piece of fabric – a large print green gingham with flowers. I will try to get a picture of the back with the quilting though.

Leave a Reply

