Skip to content

Summer Manicures

June 5, 2012

I’m totally jumping on the nails/nail polish/manicures band wagon. I was a nail biter until I was about 16. I think the way I stopped was to start wearing clear polish, and I’d spend my time picking at it instead of biting my nails. I do like having my nails done, but I’m way too cheap to pay someone to do it, and I’m usually just too impatient to wait for it to dry. I find myself currently not in the mood to do much in the way of crafting, so suddenly I have time to watch nail polish dry.

So yesterday I did this… was giving the Scotch taping off trick a try, using some of those scrapbook crafting scissors to cut the tape. It worked ok, but as you can see it bubbled up quite a bit. And I decided I wasn’t crazy about the combo, or the design. If I like my nails, I’ll leave them for a week, if I don’t, I have no reason to stick with it!
Summer Mani #1

I wanted to try water marbling, so this is what I ended up with instead.
Summer Mani #2 (L)
Summer Mani #2 (R)

I need to invest in one of those little brushes for cleaning up around the cuticle area… or get better at not painting my cuticles. And then not moisturize my hands before doing my nails because the tape was not sticking to my skin, and even slipped over my nails a little as you can see on my right hand. Not bad for my first attempt though. And although I like color combos, I’m realizing that I like less contrast on my nails. By the end of the summer, I expect to be a pro!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. romysway permalink
    June 6, 2012 1:28 am

    I love the water marbling I’ll have to try that too

  2. June 6, 2012 2:50 am

    Your marbled nails look terrific!

Leave a Reply

